Council  and office bearers

The Chamber of Mines Council comprises representatives of member companies and guides and directs the strategy of the Chamber of Mines. Council members nominate and elect four office bearers – the President, and three Deputy Presidents.

Chamber Office Bearers


  • Ayanda Bam
    Ayanda Bam, Kuyasa Mining (Executive Chairman)
  • Roger Baxter
    Roger Baxter, Chamber of Mines (CEO)
  • Paul Dunne
    Paul Dunne, Northam Platinum (Chief Executive)
  • Micheal Fraser
    Micheal Fraser, South32 (President & COO Africa)
  • Chris Griffith
    Chris Griffith, Anglo American Platinum (Chief Executive)
  • Nick Holland
    Nick Holland, Gold Fields (CEO)
  • Murray Houston
    Murray Houston, Glencore Coal (COO)
  • Lucky Kgatle
    Lucky Kgatle, Sasol Mining (MD)
  • Billy Mawasha
    Billy Mawasha, Richards Bay Minerals (MD)
  • Ben Magara
    Ben Magara, Lonmin (CEO)
  • Maboko Mahlaole
    Maboko Mahlaole, Palabora Mining Company (GM: Resources)
  • Zanele Matlala
    Zanele Matlala, Merafe Resources (CEO)
  • Norman Mbazima
    Norman Mbazima, Anglo American South Africa (Deputy Chairman)
  • Themba Mkhwanazi
    Themba Mkhwanazi, Kumba Iron Ore (CEO)
  • Nico Muller
    Nico Muller, Impala Platinum (CEO)
  • July Ndlovu
    July Ndlovu, Anglo American Coal (CEO)
  • Barend Petersen
    Barend Petersen, De Beers Consolidated Mines (Chairman)
  • Nico Pienaar
    Nico Pienaar, Aspasa (Director)
  • Willie Potgieter
    Willie Potgieter, Glencore Alloys (CFO)
  • Niel Pretorius
    Niël Pretorius, DRDGOLD (CEO)
  • Mike Schmidt
    Mike Schmidt, African Rainbow Minerals (CEO)
  • Peter Steenkamp
    Peter Steenkamp, Harmony (CEO)
  • Mike Teke
    Mike Teke, Dedicoal (CEO)
  • Venkat
    Srinivasan (Venkat) Venkatakrishnan, AngloGold Ashanti (CEO)

Chamber executives